Special Statement on COVID-19 Impact on Children

“As we all practice social distancing during this unprecedented global health crisis, our hearts and minds are with the vulnerable children who are now separated from their schools and the social support systems that help protect them from abuse and neglect. Now more than ever, they and their families, need our help during this time of extreme stress and uncertainty.  Help us continue fighting child abuse with a donation to Help For Children.  Together, despite the challenges that lie ahead as a result of the outbreak of the coronavirus, we can make the world a safer place for children. “

-        Renee Skolaski, Executive Director & CEO, Help For Children

To date, Help For Children Chicago has distributed 205 best-in-class and innovative grants totaling over $7 million. The Committee of Hearts, founded in 2002 by Elizabeth Foster of Kilkenny Capital Management LLC, has strong partnerships in the alternative investment industry and, with its ongoing support, has made a demonstrable difference in the lives of children and families throughout the Midwest for almost two decades.   

The Committee of Hearts was enhanced in 2005 by the Committee of Hope, founded by Jennifer Edgcomb of GEM Realty Capital, as a way for rising industry professionals and their peers to contribute to the HFC mission. In joining forces, these two groups have created an even larger contribution to local organizations that are dedicated to the prevention and treatment of child abuse.

The Committee of Hearts holds a popular benefit every May in Chicago.  The Committee of Hope holds several fun and engaging events throughout the year, including a craft beer event in the fall and a trivia event each winter. 

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Sponsors & Benefactors


  • Chicago Committee of Hearts
    • Brian Chapin, Chair, KPMG LLP;
    • Noah Ginsburg, Chair, RSM;
    • Julia Allen, Credit Suisse;
    • Danny Altschul, Baker Tilly;
    • Jeff Blumberg, Faegre Baker Daniels;
    • Brian Dodson, PwC;
    • Christine DeMasi, Advisory Research;
    • Jennifer Edgcomb, GEM Realty Capital, Inc.;
    • Rebecca Emery, Bloomberg, LP;
    • Jennifer Flandina, Deutsche Bank;
    • Ed Haravon, Spot Trading, LLC;
    • Elizabeth Foster, Kilkenny Capital Management;
    • James Jacobson, RiverNorth Capital Management, LLC;
    • Keith Friedman, GCM Grosvenor;
    • Matthew Koenig, Ernst & Young LLP;
    • Basil Godellas, Winston & Strawn;
    • Joshua Leavitt, Zoku Technologies, LLC;
    • Robert Goldbaum, Backstop Solutions Group;
    • Michael Gray, Neal Gerber Eisenberg;
    • Kristin Norton, 50 South Capital;
    • Melinda Kramer, KloudVentures;
    • Wesley Nissen, DLA Piper LLP;
    • Amy Rosenow, Jugl LLC;
    • Ryan Maki, Morgan Stanley;
    • Greg Schwieder, Big Rock LLC;
    • Lindsey Sine, Goldman Sachs & Co. ;
    • David Morris, Fox, Swibel, Levin & Carroll;
    • Liam Smith, CME Group;
    • Erica Nelson, Deloitte;
    • Dan Usalis, Deloitte;
    • Stacy Witcher, Ernst & Young LLP;
    • Benji Wolken, Ernst & Young LLP;
    • Andrew Raby, Drinker Biddle & Reath;
    • Joe Wiggins, PwC;
    • Kristin Wood, Balyasny Asset Management;
    • Lance Zinman, Katten Muchin Rosenman;
  • Chicago Committee of Hope
    • Ashley Hall, Chair, KPMG;
    • Kate MacIntosh, Chair, GCM Grosvenor;
    • Brian Seested, Chair, Ernst & Young;
    • Samantha Buell, SG Americas;
    • Richard Chang, PwC;
    • Laura Cook, Tuscan Ridge Asset Management;
    • Brian Dodson, PwC;
    • Emily Dominski, GEM Realty Capital;
    • Cathy Ficek, SSA & Company;
    • Brad Fleming, Ernst & Young;
    • Lauren Foley, Bloomberg;
    • Rachel Goldrick, Golub Captial;
    • Jenn Head, UBS O'Connor;
    • Tomer Konstantin, Booth School of Business;
    • Curt Lawhorn, DiMeo Schneider;
    • Nada Litwin, Fox, Hefter, Swibel, Levin & Carroll, LLP;
    • Mike MacIntosh, Citadel;
    • Matt McClain, J.P. Morgan;
    • Susan Merrill, Citadel;
    • Stephen Misner, GCM Grosvenor;
    • Patrick Mulkern, Citco;
    • Blake Nielsen, Enfusion Systems;
    • Maren Pederson, Magnetar Capital;
    • Blake Rasing, Deloitte;
    • Nicki Schumacher, KPMG;
    • Bethany Scott, Deloitte;
    • Tomas Sutrinaitis, J.P. Morgan;
    • Chris Wade, PwC;
    • Jeff Wloszek, Northern Trust;
  • Chicago Grants Committee
    • Erica Nelson, Chair, Deloitte;
    • Brain Chapin, KPMG;
    • Brian Dodson, PwC;
    • Christine DeMasi, Advisory Research;
    • Janelle Ibeling, Sidley Austin LLP;
    • Joseph Wiggins, PwC;
    • Kristin Norton, 50 South Capital - Northern Trust;
    • Rebecca Emery, Bloomberg LP;
    • Robert Goldbaum, Backstop Solutions Group, LLC;

Safe Families for Children Alliance

USD $39,250

Primo Center for Women and Children

USD $17,500

Teen Parent Connection

USD $39,250

Cabrini Green Legal Aid

USD $40,000

Chicago Children’s Advocacy Center

USD $40,000

Children’s Research Triangle

USD $20,727

Leading Global Sponsors

See more sponsors...